The Whitlams

The Whitlams formed in late 1992 in Newtown, Australia. The original line up of Tim Freedman on piano, Stevie Plunder on guitar and Andy Lewis on double bass played mainly around Sydney’s inner west, a jaunty acoustic act in the midst of the grunge movement. In 1999 Freedman recruited noted Sydney musicians Terepai Richmond (D.I.G.), Jak Housden (The Badloves) and Warwick Hornby (The Lab) to join him in the band and the line-up remained unchanged until Warwick's recent retirement. Ian Peres, best known for a long stint with Wolfmother, has now joined on bass.

Over the course of The Whitlams’ storied history, they have released five platinum or gold-selling albums in a row including ARIA number 1 album "Torch the Moon" and the beloved “Eternal Nightcap” LP.

Since the release of the band’s last studio album, the gold-certified “Little Cloud” in 2006, The Whitlams have collaborated with various state symphony orchestras (including ten sold-out shows at the Sydney Opera House Concert Hall with the Sydney Symphony), performed numerous annual sold out laps of the country and released a ‘best of’ compilation.

The Whitlams are known for their hugely successful ballads, but they also have a high-energy side which has made them one of Australia’s most successful live touring acts.

Enquire Now

Angie Hart
Bad Pony
Bella Taylor Smith
Ben Lee
Brendan Maclean
Busby Marou
Calypso Cora
Chris Sebastian
David Campbell
Emma Pask
Franky Walnut
Jack Carty
Jarryd James
Kate Miller-Heidke
Katie Noonan
Lisa Simone
Mark Wilkinson
Missy Higgins
Paul Mac
Rachael Fahim
Short Stack
Sleep Talk
The Basics
The Whitlams
Tim Freedman
Tubular Bells for Two
William Crighton
Xavier Rudd
Thanks for contacting Craft Music. We'll be in touch soon as soon as we can
Something went wrong with the form. Please fill out all the fields and try again.